Volunteer Awards

Recognizing our community’s volunteers

Volunteers are an important foundation of many nonprofit agencies and bring many skills and resources. United Way provides local organizations an opportunity to recognize their volunteers through our annual Volunteer Awards. We accept nominations annually beginning in December.

Award Descriptions

All awards are judged based upon the outstanding contributions to a nonprofit organization.

Youth volunteer award: Individual in college or someone younger than age 18.

Young professional volunteer award: Individual 40 or younger.

Adult volunteer award: Individual 41–54 years old.

Senior volunteer award: Individual 55 years or older.

Business volunteer award: A business or company.

Group volunteer award: Two people or more.

Nominations are accepted until Thursday, February 22. After the community submits nominations, United Way’s William B. Quarton Society and Young Leaders Society choose three finalists in each category. The community then votes for the winning volunteers. Winners in each category receive $500 to donate to a nonprofit of their choice. We announce winners at our annual recognition event in April.

2017 Outstanding Volunteer Awards

  • Mary Claire Henricksen: Mercy Medical Center
  • Laniece Dampier: Jane Boyd
  • Matthew Trueblood: Willis Dady Emergency Shelter

  • Steve Serrot: Hawkeye Area Council, Boy Scouts
  • Kim Hillyard: Various nonprofits
  • Mike Langheim: Catherine McAuley Center

  • Roger Wilcox: Cedar Valley Habitat for Humanity
  • Stephen B. Jackson, Sr.: Iowa Legal Aid
  • Karmen Jamison: Jones County Safe & Health Youth Coalition
  • Diamond V: Various nonprofits
  • Bankers Trust: Various nonprofits
  • RSM US LLP Cedar Rapids: Various nonprofits

  • Latino Employee Network (LEN) of Rockwell Collins, Young Parents Network
  • Cedar Rapids Area Association of Realtors (CRAAR): Cedar Valley Habitat for Humanity
  • Summer Dare Everywhere Volunteers, Cedar Rapids Public Library

Nomination Guidelines

  1. The nominee’s volunteer service must be in United Way of East Central Iowa’s service area (Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Jones, or Linn Counties).
  2. Nominee’s volunteer organization must be a nonprofit 501(c)(3) and serve the community at large. Religious or professional groups providing services only to their members are not eligible.
  3. You may nominate only ONE outstanding volunteer or group per category. You may not enter the same volunteer or group in additional categories.
  4. Volunteer service must be acts for which the nominee did not receive financial compensation. Reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses, such as gasoline, is acceptable.
  5. We cannot return submitted materials, and through submission, you give permission for future use in promotions or editorials.
  6. You may submit nominations for each of the six categories. You must complete one form for each category.