Volunteer Recognition

Recognizing time and talents

Volunteers are an important foundation of many nonprofit agencies, and bring many skills and resources. Retention of well-trained volunteers increases efficiencies and organizational capacity. To retain volunteers, nonprofits must understand what motivates a volunteer, give them opportunities for personal growth and development, communicate how their work impacts the organization, and recognize their time and talents.

United Way Outstanding Volunteer Awards

Nominate individuals for the Outstanding Volunteer Awards. (Nominations accepted November-February. The link below explains award details and lists past recipients.

United Way provides local organizations the opportunity to recognize their volunteers through the annual Outstanding Volunteer Awards. Volunteers are recognized in five categories: Youth, Adult, Senior, Business, and Group. Nominations take place November through February. The United Way William B. Quarton Society committee chooses three finalists in each category and the community votes for the winning volunteers. Winners in each category receive $500 to donate to a nonprofit of their choice and are announced at our annual Volunteer Recognition Breakfast held in April. For more information or to submit nominations and vote for the United Way’s Outstanding Volunteer Awards, visit our Volunteer Awards page.

United Way Annual Awards

Nominate individuals for the Community Philanthropist AwardNorthcott Award and the Young Leaders Award. (Nominations accepted April-May) The links below explain award details and list past recipients.

This award is designed to honor and recognize an individual or couple who have spent their lifetime sharing their time, talents, and treasures to United Way and other nonprofit organizations.

Community Philanthropist Award Recipients:
2009 Myron (Mike) and Esther Wilson
2010 Jack Cosgrove
2011 Bob and Beth Allsop
2012 Joe Schimberg
2013 John and Dyan Smith
2014 Rex and Kathy Eno

Lynn L. Nichols Award
2002 Don Maniccia – HACAP
2003 Steve Meyer – Foundation 2
2004 Myrt Bowers – Witwer Center
2005 Dan Strellner – Aging Services
2006 John Watson – Goodwill Industries
2007 Diane Nelson – Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa & Western Illinois
2008 UWECI Partner Agencies
2009 Jenny Schulz-Kids First Law
2010 Tim Wilson-Willis Dady Shelter
2011 Dr. Rhys B. Jones – Dental Health Center at St. Luke’s
2012 N/A
2013 N/A
2014 John Garringer

This award recognizes an individual volunteer who has been of outstanding service to United Way of East Central Iowa and exemplifies the leadership qualities and criteria exhibited by John B. Northcott as a pioneering Cedar Rapids philanthropist.

Northcott Award Recipients:
1985 Dennis Boatman
1986 John Wasta
1987 Dave Miller
1988 Mike Wood
1989 Don Zierath
1990 Barry Spear
1991 Jack Evans
1994 Mike Schranz
1995 Kathy Eno
1996 Gary Streit
1999 Terri Christoffersen
2000 Dan Thies
2002 Bob Kucharski
2003 Jack Cosgrove
2004 Amy Johnson Boyle
2005 Chuck Peters/Rex Eno – this is the only year we gave two awards
2006 Bruce Anderson
2007 Dick Johnson
2008 Jim Tinker
2009 Katie Oberbroeckling
2010 Larry Helling
2011 Cindy Dietz
2012 Marc and Cathy Gullickson
2013 Ron Olson
2014 Jack and Matt Evans

*Note: The Northcott Award has not been given out every year.

This award is designed to recognize a young leader that demonstrates outstanding professional leadership, philanthropy and community involvement.

Young Leaders Award Recipients
2014 Shilo Knapp

Other Local Volunteer Awards

The Iowa Governor’s Volunteer Award annually recognizes volunteers for years of service (5, 10, and 15) or special recognition for their work on specific projects. The awards are submitted in March and all volunteers are recognized at the annual Iowa Governor’s Volunteer Award ceremony. More information is available at volunteeriowa.org.

The Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame is the most prestigious state-level honor volunteers can receive; the people selected are those who have forever changed their community, the state, the nation, or the world with their volunteer service and action. Nominations are accepted starting in October and an awards ceremony takes place in February. More information is available at volunteeriowa.org.

The Daily Point of Light Award celebrates the power of volunteers to spark change and improve the world through community service. These awards are given to individuals who find innovative ways to meet community needs; efforts which often lead to long-term solutions and impact social problems in their local communities. Submit nominations online at pointsoflight.org/dailypointoflight.

This is a great way to thank and honor those who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service. The President’s Volunteer Service Award recognizes individuals, families, and groups that have achieved a certain standard – measured by the number of hours of service during a 12-month period or cumulative hours earned over the course of a lifetime. For information, visit presidentialserviceawards.gov.

In This Section